Statistics. More public health nurses were attached to the Cape Breton Island Health Unit and it is expected that this particular branch of the organization will soon be brought to full strength.

New Brunswick.—The Department of Health, under the administration of a Minister of Health, was established in 1918. It provides the following services: general sanitation, including supervision of water supplies and sewage disposal; control of communicable diseases, including tuberculosis and venereal diseases; public health laboratory and the supply of biologicals; medical inspection of schools; collection of vital statistics; public health nursing and child welfare; health education; and general supervision and co-ordination of the work of the sub-district boards of health.

Under the Minister, the Department is directed by the Chief Medical Officer who is also Registrar General of Vital Statistics. The staff consists of a director of laboratories, eleven full-time medical health officers, a director of public health nursing service and, in addition, a part-time director of venereal disease clinics.

There are ten health districts, each in charge of a District Medical Health Officer who also provides the tuberculosis diagnostic and medical inspection of schools services.

Sixteen sub-health districts, each with its own board of health of which the District Medical Health Officer is the chairman, have been organized. The subdistrict boards of health have their own individual staffs of sanitary, food, plumbing, and other inspectors, registrars of vital statistics and public health nurses, all operating under the Provincial Health Act and Regulations.

The Department also maintains twenty-four depots for the distribution of biologicals and twelve venereal disease clinics.

The twenty-first annual report of the Chief Medical Officer contains a review of the various services, the vital statistics for the province, and the reports of staff members and of the sub-district boards of health.

Quebec.—The Department of Health, under the control of the Minister of Health, replaced the former Provincial Bureau of Health at the end of the year 1936.

The province of Quebec inaugurated, in 1926, a new system known as the 'county health units', consisting of a full-time health service for each county, or group of two or three adjoining counties. At present 42 health units covering 52 counties have been organized with new counties asking for the same privilege. The former district health officers, reduced to 11, are in charge of all the counties not yet organized as county health units.

The services of all these officers and their staffs of nurses, sanitary inspectors, etc., are given in the form of consultations, public lectures, school medical inspections, baby and travelling tuberculosis clinics, and investigations of all kinds, immunization, sanitation, etc.

In addition to an Administrative Division, the Ministry of Health maintains the following divisions: Laboratories, Sanitary Engineering, Demography, Mental Hygiene, Public Charities, Epidemiology, Health Units and Districts, Industrial Hygiene, and Nutrition. The latter includes maternal and child welfare. A new division, the Division of Tuberculosis, is now being established.

The energies of the Ministry of Health are also directed towards the prevention of epidemics, more particularly tuberculosis and the more important causes of infant mortality. To this end, the Ministry has established 21 anti-tuberculosis

1032